George Digweed and Mark Winser are the first to qualify for the Premier League final

Mark Winser and George Digweed claim their places at the top of the Premier League Final 2015.

Mark Winser and George Digweed have booked the first two spaces at the Premier League after winning the Essex Masters and the World English Sporting Championships, respectively.

11025694_798495990257489_9214704298358471177_o Premier League, sponsored by The Clay Shooting Company, Promatic, CCI, R&K Stockcraft and DryFire, was launched this year and is a pilot event in the UK for English Sporting. It’s a continuous league with ranking points taken at each of the majors, including the Krieghoff Masters, the Clay Shooting Classic, the British Open and the Gamebore 150.

Shooters are given ranking points according to their final position in one of the nine major English Sporting events comprising the English and British Opens, the Clay Shooting Classic, the Beretta World, the Krieghoff Masters, the Gamebore Gold Cup, the ShootClay Cup and the two that have already taken place.

Points will accumulate from each major, and at the end of the season the top 32 shooters will be invited to the Premier League Final. The winner of each Major also automatically qualifies for the Final, which will take place on Sunday 25 October at Garlands Shooting Ground, and will be broadcast live through The Final will be a head-to-head knockout competition on a Compak-type layout, culminating in a dramatic shoot-off to decide the Premier League Champion. The winner will take home £5,000 cash, with additional prizes for second and third places.


Mark Winser has already secured his place in the Final, and currently sits at the top of the Premier League rankings. George Digweed also gained automatic qualification for the Premier League Final when he successfully defended his CPSA/NSCA Sporting World Championship title in Florida in mid-April. No points were awarded to competitors at the Championship, nor will they be awarded at the Beretta World Sporting, though the winner of the latter will also qualify automatically for the Final.

The next qualifying shoot is the Sporting English Open, which takes place 7-10 May at High Lodge Shooting Ground.

See the top 30 below, but for the full list click here. 


1 M Winser (Q) 300
2 M Marshall 200
3 S Bramley 150
4 J Lee 120
5 C Baker 110
6 S Scott 100
6 G Poinsot 100
6 C Auvrett 100
9 J Morris 70
9 N Hendrick 70
11 J Brightman 49
11 A Cork 49
11 S Green 49
14 J Kebble 46
14 G Digweed (Q) 46
14 R Bunning 46
14 J Attwood 46
14 C Hall 46
19 C Papworth 41
19 M Papworth 41
19 C Revell 41
19 A Jude 41
19 P Rowbottom 41
24 K Johnson 27
24 S Greenwood 27
24 G Stirzaker 27
24 S Brightwell 27
28 C Exton 23
28 D Bishop 23
28 A McKeown 23
28 A Harvey 23
28 D Ferriman 23

Q = Automatically qualified after winning a Major.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Follow Us!